Thread Dial on Mini Lathe not Turning?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RMS

Reaction score
Hey Guys,

I am just learning about screw cutting, and this dial is supposed to turn when the half nut is not engaged, so what is making this turn when not engaged and what stops it when it is engaged?

Anyone have issues with the mini lathe's thread dial not turning at all? Any suggestions on how to fix or adjust?

Thanks,
Rob

Nothing stops the dial from turning, when the half nut is engaged, the apron moves the same speed as the dial is turning. Everything is in sync, so the pitch of the leadscrew that would turn the gear is in the same relative distance from the half nuts and thus moves forward at the same speed. It is much easier to see on older lathes where the gear on the dial is out in the open.

Hope you can make some sense out of this.

techonehundred said:
Nothing stops the dial from turning, when the half nut is engaged, the apron moves the same speed as the dial is turning. Everything is in sync, so the pitch of the leadscrew that would turn the gear is in the same relative distance from the half nuts and thus moves forward at the same speed. It is much easier to see on older lathes where the gear on the dial is out in the open.

Hope you can make some sense out of this.

OK, I get the drift a little better now. I guess maybe now to get my dial to spin when the half nut is not engaged I may need a shim "read somewhere" to align it better basically this dial is always in contact with the lead screw. Maybe mine as with others some tweaking is needed.

Thanks!

On some lathes the dial can be swung out of engagement when not in use.

That indicator is supposed to tell you when to engage the leadscrew - all good and well but the information supplied can be misleading.