Opinions on this vice

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JimM

Reaction score
My new (to me at least) milling machine should be deliveerd next week and I need to get a vice for it. Can't afford to splash out for a Kurt and am looking for something in the 'economy' range but that should get me by for a year or two.

Does anyone have any comments on Vertex vices, specifically the 'K' series like the 3rd/4th ones down on this page

http://www.chronos.ltd.uk/acatalog/Chronos_Catalogue_Vertex_Milling_Vices_103.html

Secondly the table size of the mill is 28" x 7" would a 4" or 5" sized vice be best suited to this table ?

Thanks

Jim

I have been using the Vertex K-series vices for many years, and even in a small production environment that I use them, for they are perfect for the job. I would recommend NOT using the swivel base, that just loses you height under your quill, and makes everything less rigid and less accurate. Bolt the main bit straight down onto the table using the correct sized and good quality t-bolts, and do a good setup and checkout on it before use. If it is out of expected tolerances, send it back and ask for a new one. The last one I bought had zero runout on every surface that was checked, as were the two previous ones.

But do be careful, there are a lot of Vertex clones out there, Chronos sell the genuine ones, as do RDG.

http://rdgtools.co.uk/acatalog/MACHINE_AND_MILLING_VICE_S.html

I have never used the VA series so I can't comment on those. But if they are up to the same standard as the K series, you can't go far wrong.

The reason I choose the K series is that it has a full face bottom to the vice jaws rather than a large gap as the VA series has.