X3 Power feed

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

swivelhead

Reaction score
Newbie here needing help.
Having spent a few weeks making some improvements to my XJ12-300 mill (X2clone) the time had come to make chips. No problems for a few hours and then the powerfeed packed up. The fuse had blown and was replaced but still no go. The power light is on but the unit is dead.
Anyone have any ideas.

swivelhead,
I'm not familiar with that mill......but. Most mills have table locking screws. Check your table by hand. You should be able to turn it easily. Also check your Gibbs. You might have to let it cool down some if it got hot. PTC on motor

Just a thought
Tony

Cobra 428
The mill is the same as the x2 but made by Big Dog in China but it is slightly different. The table is larger along with a more powerfull motor and as i understand the belt drive from lms will only fit with mods.
The table runs very smooth after a little work and was not binding at all. Infact i wasn't taking a cut but on a power return (table under no load).
As you might have realised the power feed is an lms x3 unit used because of quick traverse function. When i get it sorted i will post all the mods i have done to it.
Tony

You fitted an X3 power feed on an X2 mill? That would seem to be a neat trick.

I lost a circuit board on the X3 feed unit but was lucky enough to get a replacement through Grizzly. I was about to recommend Uncle Rabid, a fellow who was known for repairing Seig circuit boards, but a quick check in over on his web site informed me that he went on to that "Great Machine Shop in the Sky", back in March of this year.

An irascible old guy, but he did good work for not a lot of money. He'll defintely be missed in the Seig machine community.

Steve