X2 powerfeed from a cordless drill

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bill S

Reaction score
This is my first contribution to the forum

This project began over a year ago. Shortly after buying an X2 mill I immediately saw the need for a powerfeed and research showed most homebrew feeds were made from auto wiper motors, soooooo a quick trip to the local auto scrap yard and $15 later I was ready to start. After many failed attempts at trying various power supplies (I have very little electronic knowledge) I put the whole thing aside while I worked on other things.

Fast forward to about 2 weeks ago and I came across a post describing a powerfeed made from a cordless drill. Hmmm, interesting, I had an old Dewalt 14.4 cordless lying around not doing anything, so I figured let’s try this thing again.

First I want to see about getting power to it, so I dusted off a nice power supply I got on Fleabay while working on the first one (it has a 1v to 15v - 6a variable mode and a 13v - 10a mode). So I crack open the drill case and jump the power directly to the motor, and pretty as you please it runs just fine. I suspect I got a bad wiper motor the first time. Now that I knew it would work I cut the handle off of the drill and soldered extensions to the leads coming from the motor.