X2 Mini Mill Mods

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gwapoboy

Reaction score
Hello Everybody,

I am new to this forum, so hope this is the right area. Just a bit about me I am an apprentice tool and die maker and enjoy machining. Anyways I picked up a Mini Mill from Busy Bee Tools here in Canada. Its an X2 variation, MT3 Collet. I am wondering what modifications you guys suggest, I have cleaned it off, reburred some areas, re lubricated it properly. I am wanting to do modifications to make it more rigid and precise. I am hoping to be able to get it set up so I can machine aluminum paintball parts to tolerances of 0.001" to 0.005".

Thanks in Advance

Hi
you have a popular mill with home machinists and by your post are already on track to make it a more usable machine.
The common mods are belt drive, column stiffener on the tilt column model, power feed on the table, bigger motor I can vouch for that, An "Air Spring" instead of the silly spring return.
You can use the automotive type of About 24 kg load and 220 mm travel and fabricate your own fittings.

added photo of much modded X2 Mill

Eric

Z-Axis 10.jpg

Hi gwapoboy and welcome to the forum. wEc1
I’ll assume you have CT133? If so I have the same mill and have to agree with velocette for mods. If you’re looking to improve the accuracy of your mill stiffen up the column. Mine has a nice hunk of ¾” plate. About 3 months after I got the mill I was getting tired of wearing ear protection and did the swap to belt drive. I was ready to order the kit from Little Machine Shop when I read a post from someone that the spindle was slightly smaller on the CT133 so he had to rework the large pulley to get it to work. In the end I just made mine based the drawings available at http://myplace.frontier.com/~wgmumaw/MiniMill Belt Drive/MiniMill conversion.html