"World Renown" Steam Roller

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shred

Reaction score
After my experiments in wheelmaking (http://www.homemodelenginemachinist.com/index.php?topic=6989.0), it's time to do something useful fun with them.

CIMG1377.sized.jpg

The old Australian Renowntm steam roller toys Tmuir's rebuilding (http://www.homemodelenginemachinist.com/index.php?topic=6764.0) are the inspiration-- they look like lots of fun and got me wanting to try making one, so with not much more than some pictures and sheet steel, I started playing around.

If all goes well, I'll clean up the drawings and open source them out for everyone-- The ides is to make a project that people with one or two wobblers under their belt could have a shot at building and having fun with. I'm going to try and use hardware-store materials whenever practical, though that won't work for everything.

The motto for this build is "Making toys, not finescale models" ;D ;D

After a little plotting and measuring, I drilled a bunch of holes in some 16ga steel. The originals were brass; I think it looks much better, but I'm guessing this project is going to get a lot of tweaking and part changes and extra holes as I design and re-design things, so steel, being considerably cheaper, is the prototype material for now. Once the design is good, I may go back and do a brass one.

Drilled a bunch of holes for the sideplate (fastening and stacking them and drilling through both at once if possible):

CIMG1388.sized.jpg

Check out the disposable parallel since so many holes are right on the edges. ;)