Working On A LMS Stirling Kit Build

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

George_Race

Reaction score
I have been encouraged since my first little rocker engine ran the first time I tried it. See here:http://www.homemodelenginemachinist.com/index.php?topic=14528.0

About a year ago I purchased a couple of material kits from The Little Machine Shop. Both are Stirling Engines. I must admit that when they arrived I was overwhelmed with the complexity of the machining needed to build them from the raw materials. They have been sitting on the shelf for some time. As a novice hobby machinist, my first build was a little rocker engine, and it ran the very first time I put air to it. That and all of your kind comments encouraged me to bring down one of the Stirling material kits from the shelf. After spending a lot of time going over the pages of prints and pictures, I decided to start the build. Having all the prints in Metric was my first challenge. I learned how to do the conversion to Imperial and that seemed to help a lot. In the mean time I ordered several measuring tools that are Metric as well.

The picture below shows some of the first pieces that I finished off. I first did the base plate on my home brew CNC. Using CamBam I drew and compiled the G-Code to face off the surface of the aluminum plate. After several passes, a thousands or two at a time, I think it came out really looking nice and it is smooth as a piece of glass! I really like the "tooling" finish my mill leave behind.