what od for a external thread

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
D

Don Huseman

As an example what should the od be for a 1/4 20 thread be to make the top of the thread flat . I know that you should round of the tip of the threading point tool, but what do you do for the sharp v crest of the thread.
Don

Using your example of a 1/4-20 thread the book calls for an O.D. of .245" +./0 -.003
With the raised burr it will be a sharp edged thread, but cut it will fit a 1/4-20 size piece.

I turn the O.D. to .010" under the nominal size.
The crest is not as sharp and the thread integrity is not lost.
Please understand I have no engineering experience to back up my personal
methods! Just the experience from past years. It's just what works for ME.

Rick

The height of the flat is H/8 where

H = sqrt(3)/(2*N)
N = thread pitch (tpi)

so the diametrical undercut from nominal size is

U = sqrt(3)/(8*N) = 0.216/N

which, for N=20, is 0.011" (good call, Rick).

A long time ago, I worked out the formulae for most of the pertinent measurements on a sixty degree thread form.

thread.jpg

Very impressive! ;D I tend to just sneak a peek in one of my books!