V8 3D printed air powered engine

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lozpeters

Reaction score
Hi all,

I thought it was time I post up some info about my latest project!

A bit about me and the project.

I am a design engineer for a well known vacuum cleaner company based in the UK. I have always loved building and making model and using engineering machines to make precise parts

So recently I have wanted a project that is a bit more involved than buying a plastic kit from the shop to assemble, this combined with my desire to get a classic American V8 muscle car (but no money) has led me down this path! With no engineering machines at home to use and not currently having the skills to machine this all from billet aluminium I have used my knowledge of modern CAD and 3D printing.

This is a scale V8 engine that I have modeled it up on CAD the idea is that it can be compressed air powered. I have had all the parts 3D printed from nylon and I am now in the assembly/tinkering phase to get it working

CAD screenshot

The supercharger/blower is all for show, no go hopefully the engine will be powerful enough to turn the supercharger. But I couldn't design the V8 without a supercharger

My idea was to get the engine running of compressed air to prove it works, If I can't get it running I will at least paint it up and have a nice display piece!

I thought I would post it up here in its current state so I can get feedback and advice from all you knowledgeable people

More pictures to come and the progress so far

A big thanks to Chuck Fellows, Steve Huck and other members who have helped me with ideas with their fantastic design and skills.

Hope you like it
Loz

Arrival day of the printed parts :whoohoo: it took 3 weeks of waiting!

1st main part assembly

all holes drilled out and tapped

pistons & con rods assembled