V4 Oscillator Motor

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
ACHiPo, a few pics of the disassembled piston, I believe contact with any type of oil will turn it into a messy sticky black goo,

View attachment 121344View attachment 121345View attachment 121346View attachment 121347View attachment 121348
Excellent work! Please can you tell us the clearances between bore and piston OD that you use? What is the tooling like? What speeds and feeds to use? - and where we can get suitable grades of Graphite? How is the piston affixed to the Delrin inner? - if an interference fit, what are the relative sizes of part? (to avoid bursting the piston?).
Thanks,
K2

K2, I am no expert on graphite material, the piece I had was of unknown identity, hot air engines need low friction and as far as I'm aware very accurate dims are not a must, and any kind of contact of moving parts will reduce power and it will even refuse to run,

to machine Graphite I think can be dangerous to your health it floats in the air as a cloud of dust and will leave a film everywhere so my advice is to be careful and definitely use a vacuum close to the work, the piston is 0.700 dia and a sliding fit I turn it to .0005 oversize and then push it into the cylinder what takes place as I do this is the graphite surface is compressed that 0.0005 and sizes the piston, I use hss tooling, the Delrin is just a slide fit and does not interfere with the inside of piston,

Fizgig is a very simple engine to build and more complicated engines such as Vickie from Jerry Howell would I feel sure require more accuracy regards dimensioning,

Edmund...........Alberta

Last edited:
Yeah, anything with a substantial amount of copper in it is stupid expensive.

360 brass is my favorite material to work with, but that makes an engine very pricey.

...Ved.