Upsur Vertical Starts, but dies within 20 seconds

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

marcmeng59

Reaction score
I am very new to engine building. I just finished an Upsur vertical pump engine ( my first IC engine), I have been trying to get it to run to no avail. It will start and run for about 20 seconds and die. I tried it on both gas and Coleman fuel no change. I tried using vapor carb and a fuel mixer no change. I have the ignition timed very slightly past TDC. I have good compression. Any ideas?

That's a tough one. I suggest playing about with the height of the gas tank. If your gas tank is built into the frame of the machine, try using a second gas tank on which you can adjust the height. Ideally, the top of the tank should be about 1/2" below the center of the carburetor. Also be sure that the tank is vented to atmosphere so it doesn't suffer from "vacuum lock". I generally drill a 1 mm hole thru the gas cap. --You may need a lighter spring on the intake valve, if it is an atmospheric valve with no cam and lifter.---Brian

since you have tried both a vapor carb and a fuel mixer it would seem to rule out fuel problems so it may be worth looking at the ignition system failing when it heats up or possibly a valve sticking when hot.

I have had a similar issue with an old motorcycle engine, due to a valve sticking during the warm up phase.
Easily diagnosed by turning the engine to check compression immediately after it stops.
Rectified by increasing the valve stem to guide clearance.
Is the spark plug fouling? does the engine start again after cooling down, or do you need to do anything else before it will run again?

I'm very much a newbie, so I may be WAY off ... but I thought I had understood that ignition is usually set a few degrees before TDC, not after - ???