Thread Page size

Discussion in 'HMEM Forum Support & Suggestions' started by chucketn, Aug 4, 2014.

Help Support HMEM by donating:

  1. Aug 4, 2014 #1

    chucketn

    chucketn

    chucketn

    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    154
    Occupation:
    Fully retired
    Location:
    Near Jonesborough, TN
    Why do some threads fit nicely in the browser webpage, and some wider and require using the window slider thingy at the bottom? Surely the forum software must be able to fit the threads text into the displayed window size.
    Hope I'm making myself clear.

    Chuck
     
  2. Aug 4, 2014 #2

    Swifty

    Swifty

    Swifty

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,253
    Likes Received:
    819
    Whether on my desktop or my ipad, the threads always adjust to suit the correct width, even photo's are adjusted to fit correctly. Maybe it's a setting you can change.

    Paul.
     
  3. Aug 4, 2014 #3

    Admin

    Admin

    Admin

    Administrator Staff Member Administrator Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    255
    Can you get me examples? Please post the URL, and the browser you're in.

    If you can get me screenshots that would be helpful too.
     
  4. Aug 4, 2014 #4

    xpylonracer

    xpylonracer

    xpylonracer

    Well-Known Member HMEM Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    63
    Hi Chuck

    I experience the same problem, some articles I even have to scroll across the pages to read full length of lines.
    Before when this issue was raised it was blamed on oversize pictures in the thread, I can only agree that was the case.
    Rgds, Emgee
     
  5. Aug 5, 2014 #5

    chucketn

    chucketn

    chucketn

    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    154
    Occupation:
    Fully retired
    Location:
    Near Jonesborough, TN
    I will if I can find the thread. Now, even clicking 'Today's Posts' doesn't display the thread in question.

    Chuck
     
  6. Aug 5, 2014 #6

    chucketn

    chucketn

    chucketn

    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    154
    Occupation:
    Fully retired
    Location:
    Near Jonesborough, TN
    "Today's Threads' is not bringing up all the threads from today, but I found an example.
    http://www.homemodelenginemachinist.com/showthread.php?t=23372
    Text in this threads posts runs out of the frame on the right. The window slider apears on the bottom of the brouser frame. I'm running win7 Home and IE9.
    Haven't noticed this problem on any other forum.

    Chuck
     
  7. Aug 5, 2014 #7

    chucketn

    chucketn

    chucketn

    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    154
    Occupation:
    Fully retired
    Location:
    Near Jonesborough, TN
    Here's a screen shot of what I see on that thread:

    too wide.jpg
     
  8. Aug 5, 2014 #8

    Cogsy

    Cogsy

    Cogsy

    Well-Known Member Staff Member Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2,707
    Likes Received:
    774
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I get the same from some threads, including that one.
     
  9. Aug 5, 2014 #9

    johnmcc69

    johnmcc69

    johnmcc69

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    42
    I get the same results Chuck. Win 7 & I.E. explorer. & why is it it that when I click on a topic to read it, & hit the BACK button on my browser, I have to do it more than once? Is this because all the ad's, & links that have to loaded before I read the topic?

    As mentioned earlier, I don't experience this with other sites.

    What's the deal Austin?

    John
     
  10. Aug 5, 2014 #10

    Swifty

    Swifty

    Swifty

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,253
    Likes Received:
    819
    Well, I get the photos all nicely lined up one underneath the other.

    Paul.
     
  11. Aug 5, 2014 #11

    Swifty

    Swifty

    Swifty

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,253
    Likes Received:
    819
    Check under My Account, Control Panel, Edit Options, and you will see an option to let the site alter photo sizes to suit the page, make sure you are on the default setting. This may help.

    Paul.
     
  12. Aug 5, 2014 #12

    chucketn

    chucketn

    chucketn

    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    154
    Occupation:
    Fully retired
    Location:
    Near Jonesborough, TN
    I've played with those settings, Paul. Nothing seems to help. Pics in the example post still apear larger than can be displayed in the window and are side by side.

    Chuck
     
  13. Aug 5, 2014 #13

    chucketn

    chucketn

    chucketn

    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    154
    Occupation:
    Fully retired
    Location:
    Near Jonesborough, TN
    Funny thing, Firefox shows the page in question with first frame pictures resized and one above the other, IE does not...
    Chuck
     
  14. Aug 5, 2014 #14

    xpylonracer

    xpylonracer

    xpylonracer

    Well-Known Member HMEM Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    63
    Hi Chuck
    I am using Windows XP and Chrome, no problems with the picture or link shown.

    Emgee
     
  15. Aug 5, 2014 #15

    Admin

    Admin

    Admin

    Administrator Staff Member Administrator Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    255
    It's an IE issue as far as I can tell. Let me see what I can do.
     
  16. Aug 6, 2014 #16

    Admin

    Admin

    Admin

    Administrator Staff Member Administrator Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    255
    I made some changes. Is it resovled on your end guys?
     
  17. Aug 6, 2014 #17

    chucketn

    chucketn

    chucketn

    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    154
    Occupation:
    Fully retired
    Location:
    Near Jonesborough, TN
    Not resolved here... At least not by looking at the previously refferenced thread.

    Chuck
     
  18. Aug 6, 2014 #18

    Admin

    Admin

    Admin

    Administrator Staff Member Administrator Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    255
    Can you clear your browsers cache and try again?
     
  19. Aug 6, 2014 #19

    chucketn

    chucketn

    chucketn

    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    154
    Occupation:
    Fully retired
    Location:
    Near Jonesborough, TN
    No change. Still displays as in the screenshot I posted after clearing browser cache.
    I would try updating IE if it was possible to go back to the version I have if I didn't like it...

    Chuck
     
  20. Aug 6, 2014 #20

    BaronJ

    BaronJ

    BaronJ

    Grumpy Old Git.

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    293
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired.
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Hi Austin,

    It could be a JavaScript issue in the browser !

    If I have it turned off that happens to me.
     
    Austin likes this.

Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Group Builder