Quantcast

Thread Page size

Help Support HMEM:

chucketn

Senior Citizen
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
1,311
Reaction score
162
Location
Near Jonesborough, TN
Why do some threads fit nicely in the browser webpage, and some wider and require using the window slider thingy at the bottom? Surely the forum software must be able to fit the threads text into the displayed window size.
Hope I'm making myself clear.

Chuck
 

Swifty

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2012
Messages
2,253
Reaction score
823
Whether on my desktop or my ipad, the threads always adjust to suit the correct width, even photo's are adjusted to fit correctly. Maybe it's a setting you can change.

Paul.
 

Admin

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Global Moderator
Joined
Jul 16, 2012
Messages
707
Reaction score
255
Can you get me examples? Please post the URL, and the browser you're in.

If you can get me screenshots that would be helpful too.
 

xpylonracer

Well-Known Member
HMEM Supporter
Joined
Dec 23, 2010
Messages
286
Reaction score
65
Hi Chuck

I experience the same problem, some articles I even have to scroll across the pages to read full length of lines.
Before when this issue was raised it was blamed on oversize pictures in the thread, I can only agree that was the case.
Rgds, Emgee
 

chucketn

Senior Citizen
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
1,311
Reaction score
162
Location
Near Jonesborough, TN
Can you get me examples? Please post the URL, and the browser you're in.

If you can get me screenshots that would be helpful too.
I will if I can find the thread. Now, even clicking 'Today's Posts' doesn't display the thread in question.

Chuck
 

johnmcc69

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2011
Messages
325
Reaction score
58
I get the same results Chuck. Win 7 & I.E. explorer. & why is it it that when I click on a topic to read it, & hit the BACK button on my browser, I have to do it more than once? Is this because all the ad's, & links that have to loaded before I read the topic?

As mentioned earlier, I don't experience this with other sites.

What's the deal Austin?

John
 

Swifty

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2012
Messages
2,253
Reaction score
823
Well, I get the photos all nicely lined up one underneath the other.

Paul.
 

Swifty

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2012
Messages
2,253
Reaction score
823
Check under My Account, Control Panel, Edit Options, and you will see an option to let the site alter photo sizes to suit the page, make sure you are on the default setting. This may help.

Paul.
 

chucketn

Senior Citizen
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
1,311
Reaction score
162
Location
Near Jonesborough, TN
I've played with those settings, Paul. Nothing seems to help. Pics in the example post still apear larger than can be displayed in the window and are side by side.

Chuck
 

chucketn

Senior Citizen
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
1,311
Reaction score
162
Location
Near Jonesborough, TN
Funny thing, Firefox shows the page in question with first frame pictures resized and one above the other, IE does not...
Chuck
 

xpylonracer

Well-Known Member
HMEM Supporter
Joined
Dec 23, 2010
Messages
286
Reaction score
65
Hi Chuck
I am using Windows XP and Chrome, no problems with the picture or link shown.

Emgee
 

Admin

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Global Moderator
Joined
Jul 16, 2012
Messages
707
Reaction score
255
It's an IE issue as far as I can tell. Let me see what I can do.
 

Admin

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Global Moderator
Joined
Jul 16, 2012
Messages
707
Reaction score
255
I made some changes. Is it resovled on your end guys?
 

Admin

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Global Moderator
Joined
Jul 16, 2012
Messages
707
Reaction score
255
Can you clear your browsers cache and try again?
 

chucketn

Senior Citizen
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
1,311
Reaction score
162
Location
Near Jonesborough, TN
No change. Still displays as in the screenshot I posted after clearing browser cache.
I would try updating IE if it was possible to go back to the version I have if I didn't like it...

Chuck
 

Latest posts

Top