The French horizontal mill with slide valve drawn up by JD Waal in New Zealand

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Richard Hed

Reaction score
Moses Lake in the Great Soviet of Washington
I have been redrawing this so I can more easily understand what this engine is and I have come across a problem: There is a section that says such and such is in assembly dwg "106" but there is no 106. This assembly is with the cylinder and a special valve base which fits into the side groove of the cylinder. Well, there is no method of attaching the two and holding them so I assume they are silver soldered. I have very little silver soldering experience and as tiny as the part is, it looks like a bear. i have been reading the forum comments about silver soldering and that helps a bit. I will send a jpeg when I can get it converted from bmp.

Can you post a link to the plan(s) and part to which you are referring?

Remember that Julius builds these in Solidworks, and this software is perfectly capable of designing assemblies that can't be built as drawn.

Can you post a link to the plan(s) and part to which you are referring?

Remember that Julius builds these in Solidworks, and this software is perfectly capable of designing assemblies that can't be built as drawn.
I don't know where the link is, but I have the .jpegs now.