Taps and Dies

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GWRdriver

Reaction score
siren said:
One question about "quality" taps. I'm a complete newbie and when I go on the Enco website to buy some taps, I'm completely overwhelmed. Up to now, I've just been picking them up at the hardware store. One choice; not much thought. Don't mean to hijack this topic, but what do you guys use for your taps?
OK let's start a new thread.

Brad,
The first decision to be made is whether to choose carbon steel or HSS. The most common material, at least in the US, is HSS and that's always my choice, unless carbon steel is the only choice available, or in situations where HSS carries and extremely high premium and the expense isn't warranted. The typical reasons for choosing one over the other is that HSS keeps an edge far longer and is less likley to break but is more expensive, and carbon steel tends to be less expensive and if broken can be annealed and drilled or dissolved out. People I know in the USA invariably prefer HSS while historically our British cousins have tended to prefer carbon steel.

As for dies, I think round split adjustable dies are almost the universal choice. I prefer HSS gound thread, for longer life.

I have found myself gradually replacing other styles with single-flute taps, or two flutes at most, HSS ground thread, but not all the thread sizes I need have been available (or economical) in that style. I get better thread finish, longer life, and less breakage with HSS and I also always use a tapping fluid, not a cutting oil, but a proper tapping fluid.