Tapping and threading question

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EVAN WYNES

Reaction score
Hi all.... I am pretty new to machining and have a tapping and threading question for you all. I am working on a project that requires a 9/16-20 tap and thread. I have neither the tap or die for that. My question is at what point do you guys cut the thread yourself? I have done some thread cutting on my lathe but no internal threading. I’ve looked on line and haven’t seen a tap and die set that contains that size, so I don’t know if there’s a max size where you have to start buying individual taps and dies. Thanks in advance.

Being of modest income, I single point any thread internal or external that I don't have taps or dies for. Exception being extremely small threads, for which I have purchased taps and dies for over the years. I have even made a few taps for oddball threads, such as 1/4-40.

Attachments

• SNAG-3-29-2019 0003.jpg
    SNAG-3-29-2019 0003.jpg
    58.3 KB · Views: 267
Evan,
You said tap & die set. Most packaged sets are of questionable quality. If you need taps and dies buy them as you need them. Puchase them from established tooling vendors like Victor, Travers,or eve (God forbid) MSC, or one of many others. Try to buy name brand tools. Irwin quality is questionable.

As said, you buy individual taps and dies to meet your needs. 9/16-20 is an oddball size and I would be astounded if there were a set that included it.
I think I have seen that size on bicycle pedals. So a left hand threaded version should be available as well.

An internal thread 9/16 is not that difficult. You will ever learn if you never start.
The time to start is when you need it. Like anything there are a few thing you need to learn the hard way. Book learning is a good start, then pay attention and it will work out.