T head engine by Brian

Help Support HMEM:

payner

Active Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2011
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Location
Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Brian . Here are a couple of pictures one is almost full right and the other is almost full left and it stays where you position it .
.image.jpeg
image.jpeg
4.8 volt battery pack , servo , tester .
Bill
 

mnay

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2009
Messages
277
Reaction score
117
Bill,
I would be interested in knowing where you purchased those parts. I see many options but have a hard time knowing which parts would work together.
Thanks
Brian,
Nice result as usual on the engine.

Mike
 
Last edited:

payner

Active Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2011
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Location
Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Bill,
I would be interested in knowing where you purchased those parts. I see many options but have a hard time knowing which parts would work together.
Thanks
Brian,
Nice result as usual on the engine.

Mike
I will see if I can find a link and post it , there is also a model railway supplier that sells a unit to control 1 to 4 servos that can be programmed with throws and speed of travel . I have several of these on my model train layout .
Bill
 

payner

Active Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2011
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Location
Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Mike . Here is a screenshot of the item on Banggood, mine was slightly cheaper and looks different but if you pock around on the site you can find different manufacturers. I've never had any problems with them or Aliexpress.
image.png
Bill
 

mnay

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2009
Messages
277
Reaction score
117
Thanks Bill.
Sorry to interrupt your thread Brian.
Mike
 

Brian Rupnow

Design Engineer
Project of the Month Winner
Joined
May 23, 2008
Messages
13,849
Reaction score
7,039
Location
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
You can do anything you want to. I don't use castings for anything I make, so can't really advise you on what you can and can't cast.---Brian
 

Brian Rupnow

Design Engineer
Project of the Month Winner
Joined
May 23, 2008
Messages
13,849
Reaction score
7,039
Location
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
This is the T head engine I designed and built a few months ago. I finished the engine, tuned it to run and took a video. Then it went up on the shelf. Yesterday I had some free time, so I got it off the shelf, down to my work area, and made up a spring return bracket and a throttle extension handle with a return spring. I started it up, adjusted the idle, and then let the engine run until it ran out of fuel. I had my office door open while this was happening so I didn't gas myself. Actually, I went into my machine shop and worked on something else until I heard the engine quit.
 

almega

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2018
Messages
177
Reaction score
66
Location
Maumee, OH
Sir, you do some awesome work up there in the frozen north. I only wish I had the time to develop half of your skills. How many of these do you have on shelves?
 

Steamchick

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2020
Messages
2,094
Reaction score
667
Location
Sunderland , UK.
Brian, have you considered doing a video of all the engines? I am sure many of us will enjoy seeing the whole gammut of your work. And to listen to your dulcet tones describing them - and why you made them - would keep us all feeling warm when the garage is too cold for working.
K2.
 

Brian Rupnow

Design Engineer
Project of the Month Winner
Joined
May 23, 2008
Messages
13,849
Reaction score
7,039
Location
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
That's not going to happen fellows. If you notice, all of my i.c. engines are powered by an "ignition box" which sets next to them. That same ignition box runs all of my i.c. engines, because a 12 volt automotive ignition coil costs about $50 here.
 

Richard Hed

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
1,580
Reaction score
383
Location
Seattle
That's not going to happen fellows. If you notice, all of my i.c. engines are powered by an "ignition box" which sets next to them. That same ignition box runs all of my i.c. engines, because a 12 volt automotive ignition coil costs about $50 here.
You can wind your own, they are only a coil.
 

Brian Rupnow

Design Engineer
Project of the Month Winner
Joined
May 23, 2008
Messages
13,849
Reaction score
7,039
Location
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Richard---Yeah, I think I'll taKe a couple of hours and ten thousand feet of copper wire and wind my own coils. I only need 19 more.
 
Last edited:

CFLBob

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2018
Messages
937
Reaction score
284
Location
Central Florida
That's not going to happen fellows. If you notice, all of my i.c. engines are powered by an "ignition box" which sets next to them. That same ignition box runs all of my i.c. engines, because a 12 volt automotive ignition coil costs about $50 here.
The other way to show all your engines running is to edit a video that shows all of them running, one at a time, combining 20 videos into one long video. Or people could go to your YouTube channel and look at them. I'm assuming you have at least one video of all of them.

Probably easier than winding 19 more coils, if you have the software.
 

Richard Hed

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
1,580
Reaction score
383
Location
Seattle
Richard---Yeah, I think I'll taKe a couple of hours and ten thousand feet of copper wire and wind my own coils. I only need 19 more.
I've seen automatic wire winders on utub that the users built themselves. It takes a small motor and a rev counter.
 
Top