Stirling '60'

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Clockman

Reaction score
Hi - I'm new to HMEM so I hope that I'm doing this right.
Since retiring, my hobby has been making clocks - proper ones with weights, mainsprings, pendulums etc. For a change I thought that I would try to make a Stirling engine and found the drawings for the Stirling '60' by J.Jonkman on the internet. Thanks to HMEM I was able to get the drawing page that was missing from the original internet download. Also, I found some useful information in earlier threads from people who had made the Stirling '60'.
The machining appears to be rather more complex than with clock making - there is little blind boring, for instance, in clock making so it is going to be an interesting challenge.
Two things concern me and I hope that someone who has made the Stirling '60' may be able to give me some advice. Firstly, the displacer piston is hollow with a domed end. Whilst thin-walled brass tubing is readily available, how do you form the domed end?
Secondly, I assume that the test tube has to be heat resistant glass such as borosilicate? If so, how do you cut it to length?
Any advice about constructing this engine (and the potential pitfalls) would be very welcome.
Many thanks.

Hi, for the displacer internal rad I simply ground one side of a twist drill to a rough rad the other side ground slightly further back and made it from bar stock in alloy. The external rad was done with a file .Not very technical but it works
To cut the glass I made a simple glass cutter along the lines of the one Jan Ridders shows on his site prior to that I used a diamond file in the lathe a wee bit more risky