Stephenson Rocket

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Powder keg

Reaction score
Does anybody know if there are plans available for this train engine? I've looked but haven't come up with much. I'd really like to make one. I've liked is ever since I was little. Maybe even some good ine drawings?

Thanks,

Or even "Northumbrian" that is being covered in the current issues.

Knew I'd seen a Rocket model, this one is solid silver but I have seen some in the usual yellow.

Or this one at the Model Engineers exhibition a few weeks ago, only about 6" long, bit small for my liking

Mention of drawings here

Jason

I have a set of plans from LBSC for a Rocket-esque engine he did called Rainhill. The plans are not at all his usual words and music - the originals run to maybe 8 printed pages total - but for an experienced modeler they're more than sufficient.

I have a half-built one sitting on my pile of finish-it-eventually models - gave up on it because of the wheels (was going to do them as solid disks and decided that would look awful, but couldn't find decent spoked ones).

The plans I got were from UK - cost me a total of about 8 quid mailed to my door.

Alan

There's a book by Michael R. Bailey and John P. Glithero, The Engineering and History of Rocket ([UK] National Railway Museum. 2000), with enough drawings, sketches, paintings, and photos, from which you could pull together a decent set of plans of your own. I recommend the book.

I have a set of plans from LBSC for a Rocket-esque engine he did called Rainhill.

The "Northumbrian" that I mentioned above is a more upto date version of Rainhill and uses the same castings. It would be quite easy to use this as the base mechanical design and embelish it to look more like Rocket.

Jason