South Bend Model A 9" vs ?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nx06563

HMEM Supporting Member
Reaction score
I have the itch for a new lathe and would like advice from some of the more experienced machinists.
Currently I have an old well worn South Bend 9" 24" long model A that is missing all the options (steady rest, follow rest, thread dial, taper attach). It is plenty big for what I do.
I am not the greatest machinist since I am self taught but I can't get the taper out if I move down the bed without resetting the tailstock. The tailstock is not very rigid. Can't drill without the chuck wobbling. Its my second lathe and a significant improvement over the Bridgemill I started with.
I have done several IC engines. The latest was a Howell V-twin which taxed my abilities but was a great build.
I am hoping I can improve my workmanship with a new lathe.I have been looking at the Precison Mathews 1127vf-lb on the internet and I think it may be what I want.
My requirements:
power cross feed
small enough to haul to the basement.
small enough to haul out of the basement when it comes time.
steady and follow rests
thread dial.
Inch dials
feed both directions
affordable (PM1127 vf is about $3k and in my range)
better than my SB 9

Need an old pro's advice and guidance. What would you buy. What other features would be nice.

Thanks
Hogan

I owned a SB9 A for many years, it like all old lathes was worn. It also suffered from its own design limitations, Iron on Iron spindle bearings being the biggest thing, This kept the RPM down, and always had looser bearings than I liked whic had an effect to the finish.