Solidworks, internal passages converted to solids

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

petertha

HMEM Supporting Member
Reaction score
Does anyone have a good workflow for this kind of problem: I have a solid or assembly of parts. It has some combination of internal holes, passages, clearances etc. I want to kind of reverse the process & gain access to the internal structure as a solid by hiding/subtracting/eliminating the bulk material around it.

Here is a simple example just demonstrating 2 intersecting countersunk holes. I want the 'inside stuff'. I thought there was a way to explode the solid into surface elements & then rebuild the internals that way. But Im not that experienced with surfacing yet.

2012-04-19_211400.jpg

2012-04-19_211326.jpg

I am no expert on solid works . never touched the stuff but from what I have heard it is quite similar to Aibre CAD.

fist sounds like you are looking to create a sectional view.
In Alibre just create your model then select create 3D sectional view then select your cutting plane.
I am new to alibre and stubleed on i seems quite easy once you get a hang of it.
is this what you are trying to do ?
41valvechest.jpg

Hope this helps. if not there are experienced SW users here that I am sure can help.
Tin

Tin Falcon said:
...sounds like you are looking to create a sectional view...

I can handle SW sectional views ok. What Im trying to do is kind of reverse the solid. I dont want the external block part anymore, I want the resultant internal cavity part (hilighted in red) that came about by various features or operations imposed on it.