Slow HMEM

Discussion in 'HMEM Forum Support & Suggestions' started by petertha, Feb 14, 2016.

  1. Feb 14, 2016 #1

    petertha

    petertha

    petertha

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    218
    Is it me or has the website refresh gotten irritatingly sluggish as of late? I've been on a few different PCs, different times of day over past week... click a button & 5 seconds later something actually happens.
     
  2. Feb 14, 2016 #2

    michael-au

    michael-au

    michael-au

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    341
    Gender:
    Male
    Working fine here in Australia
     
  3. Feb 14, 2016 #3

    sssfox

    sssfox

    sssfox

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    26
    I've been having issues off and on.
    I did clear my cache yesterday trying to fix another issue I was having and it's been fine since then.

    I don't know if that was a coincidence or not.
     
  4. Feb 15, 2016 #4

    Herbiev

    Herbiev

    Herbiev

    Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2,291
    Likes Received:
    292
    Mine is working fine
     
  5. Feb 16, 2016 #5

    dnalot

    dnalot

    dnalot

    Project of the Month Winner !!!

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    417
    Hi

    Mine is OK, such as it is. I live in a so called technically advanced country called America. I live in the country and the only high speed connection available is DSL. I pay for a 5 megabyte connection (most they offer) but the average speed is .72 megabyte download. The really irritating thing is that the provider (TDS) provides a speedometer that shows your speed. It tops out a 1 gig, so my .72 megabite hardly lifts the needle off its stop. They like to rub my nose in my third world connection.

    Mark T
     
  6. Feb 18, 2016 #6

    petertha

    petertha

    petertha

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    218
    I'm convinced its due to loading all the background advertising. With any refresh or hop to another sub-forum, I see my busy circle spinning, one by one the white boxes become populated with their respective ads. About 5+ seconds of this frozen state I finally get the opportunity to view a post or type a message. Irritating. How much does the off switch cost?
     
  7. Feb 18, 2016 #7

    dnalot

    dnalot

    dnalot

    Project of the Month Winner !!!

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    417
    Hi

    Become a supporting member and the adds go away.

    Mark T
     
  8. Feb 18, 2016 #8

    Swifty

    Swifty

    Swifty

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,253
    Likes Received:
    812
    I never had a problem with ads, even before I was a supporting member, just make sure that you are logged on when using the forum.

    Paul.
     
  9. Feb 19, 2016 #9

    petertha

    petertha

    petertha

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    218
    Yes, I'm always logged on. Fast PC, quick network etc.

    So if I become a supporting member, all the ads go away? Just checking because the info pages say "NO mobile advertising". Is that the same as regular PC web based access?
     
  10. Feb 19, 2016 #10

    dnalot

    dnalot

    dnalot

    Project of the Month Winner !!!

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    417
    All except the beer kit add above the new threads links.

    Mark T
     
  11. Feb 19, 2016 #11

    Admin

    Admin

    Admin

    Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    255
    Fixed the issues with the site. Sorry for the confusion, was a tricky problem to track down.
     
  12. Nov 25, 2016 #12

    chucketn

    chucketn

    chucketn

    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,173
    Likes Received:
    135
    Don't think you got them all... Until yesterday, I did not receive the ads that are now plastered all over the forum. I see that fluofflueste is now spamming almost every thread. The forum is sloooooowwwww loading.

    I am not a supporting member and did not get the ads...until now!

    Chuck
     
  13. Nov 25, 2016 #13

    Angie

    Angie

    Angie

    Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    191
    There are some that are 'sleepers' that may still pop up if I block some of the new spammers.

    And if a Supporting Member you can make the ads and side bar not seen by using your Edit Options.
     
  14. Nov 25, 2016 #14

    chucketn

    chucketn

    chucketn

    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,173
    Likes Received:
    135
    Thanks, but I'll just use Firefox...

    Chuck
     
  15. Nov 26, 2016 #15

    Cogsy

    Cogsy

    Cogsy

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,985
    Likes Received:
    563
    Gender:
    Male
    Until I logged on yesterday I had the option to not display ads but this is now gone. As a poor student with 4 kids and a wife, I can't justify paying for forum membership but I thought I was supporting the forum by posting and sharing information. If it comes to a choice of a terribly slow forum bogged down with ads that is nearly impossible to post to, or paying for something I can't afford, then I guess I'll have to take the third option and move elsewhere.
     
  16. Nov 26, 2016 #16

    chucketn

    chucketn

    chucketn

    Senior Citizen

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,173
    Likes Received:
    135
    Cogsy, please, do yourself a favor. Try Firefox, with adblock plus, a free add in. If you make HMEM the home page, and only view HMEM in it, you won't get the ads loading and suffer the slowness.
    I am totally retired and on a very modest pention, and that's why I use it. I was a computer support guy for the last 20 or so years of my working life, also had a modest business. Though a died in the wool Microsoft supporter, who prefers IE, I had to go to firefox to defeat the intrusive ads...

    Chuck
     
    Cogsy likes this.
  17. Nov 26, 2016 #17

    Angie

    Angie

    Angie

    Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    191
    That Firefox is good s/w for forums.
     

Share This Page