Simple beginner engine

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Enginedude1

Reaction score
Hi all, I am brand new to this hobby, but am very interested in it. I want to build an absolute beginner engine. Preferable like either gas or steam. (how many other kinds r there?) And i have a drill, screwdrivers, electronics skills, a soldering iron and 150 dollars. Can i make one? If so, tell me how! Thanks! Bye!

Dude

With the tools you have at present it is going to be a bit hard to build an engine. Ideally you would like to have a metal lathe (does not have to be big) a milling machine and a drill press.
One way to do it with limited tools is find one of the engines that is offered as a pre machined kit.

Dave

Hi Enginedude1. If you have a drill and bits, a hacksaw, a metal file, and tin snips you can have a lot of fun building one of these. Its a basic beginner project that would provide you a first step to becoming familiar with basic metal working skills. I always wanted to see someone build one and experience the joy of seeing it run. A good place to start. Give it a try, we'll be here to help you along!

We all started out with out skills or machines and tooling. Welcome to our forum!

http://npmccabe.tripod.com/olddesign.htm

http://npmccabe.tripod.com/steam.htm

This web site also offers other plans you can build as you progress.

-MB

with the tools you have
1) you can build a simple air steam engine.
2) attend a class or join a club that gives access to machines.
3) buy a pre machined kit from Graham industries or PM research and assemble it.
Tin

Hey Dude,