Sieg x3

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

firebird

Reaction score
HI

An opportunity has arisen whereby I can purchase a Sieg x3 mill (new) at a very advantageous price. Too good to miss really. While I can manage what I am doing on my x1 mill at the moment I envisage larger projects in the future. I am aware that there is going to be a substantial increase in the price of these machines later this year. Has any one got one of these machines? Are they as good as they look? Any advise will be most welcome.

Cheers

firebird:

I have the SX3 from Grizzly. Their model 0619. I think it's a great little machine. Of course I'm a novice at metal working and spend most of my time making copies of all the neat tools that you guys post on the board here.

I have a Smithy 1220 XL lathe with the mill attachment but got the SX3 because it made it easier to do a milling operation without having to setup and break down the milling setup if I want to do something on the lathe.

I would recommend getting the powerfeed with the SX3. It saves a lot of cranking on my old arms. ;D

Cheers

Andy

I've had an X3 (Grizzly G0463) for 16 mos. and absolutely love it It's a very capable machine. Mine came without the gas strut on the Z-axis and I fabricated a compound pulley/counterweight system to ease the load from the head when cranking Z up & down. Unlike the stock configuration, the Z can now be run up & down very easily. Here's a pic

counterweightsm.jpg

Hopefully the one you're looking at has as an R8 spindle? R8 tooling is plentiful and cheap.

Hi