Salutations from SoCal

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

betasniper

Reaction score
Hi. Uhm, my background is in machining as I had a mold/tool-maker for a father so I got into that from an early age. I had always taken apart toys to try to see how they work; most of the time failing to put them back together :wall::D. I started learning machining at the local community college whilst in high-school and did several model engines as projects for the class; however they never worked as intended. The types of engines are as follows: A Gamma Stirling engine, A compressed air V4 engine, And A 5 cylinder radial wobbler engine. I don't know what exactly went wrong with those projects but fed up with them, I decided to design my own as I was taking a GD&T class at that time. Squared off one is the prototype made with manual machines and a drill press while the other is the proper CNC made one that I made a few months later and both work great, especially considering that was the first attempt at something like that and it has no exhaust vent. Around 2014, I became the Lab Tech for that particular class and this engine --the CNC one-- became the standard project for the Class and now every student that finishes the engine actually has a functional engine to play with instead of a pretty paper weight.

Interestingly, The engine always turns forwards when supplied with compressed air no mater the crank angle the engine was at. Very Mysterious. Any Ideas why?

20120405_2130S.jpg

20180424_2037.jpg

Nice one Beta, or should I say two.

Everyone has to start somewhere, as they say about little acorns.

You are definitely on the right track by joining in here, plenty of experience in problem solving and lots of experience of building, from little wobblers to world class engines.