Rotary Valve Steam Engine

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I LIKE IT. I just might have to give this one a try.

Just started building one of this engines. Finished crankshaft,bedplate cyl. holdingplate, main bearrings, just started on boring the cyl.block, that will be finished tomorrow. post some pic. later. This will be the second steamengine i build. the first one was buildt 44 years ago when i was 13 yrs.

Rake,
Thanks for posting the plans.

Crankshafter,
And thank you for posting the picture of your engine. How is yours coming along?

Ralph,
Have you started on yours?

I am going to make this one next.

Kenny

Thanks for posting the plans for this engine.

I just finished building this engine it was fun and it runs great. I am new to the hobby with this being the first engine I have built. I sure have learned a lot during it's fabrication. I'm sure the machining on this engine is not the greatest . However I'm learning and the engine does run great.
My next project is the Webster Engine Works 4 cycle Gas Engine.

Great site
Thanks Bob Parker

Congratulations on your first engine Bob!

Rick

Hello Bob, and welcome:

If I may ask a question. Did you use the 2-56 thread size that is shown in the drawing?

Thanks,
Kenny

Hi Kenny
Yes I did use 2/56 in areas that the plans called for. It seems to work.

Bob Parker

Wonderful work Kenny, they are really coming on nicely.
I see you used the split web design then, did they work out ok for you?, or did you run into any problems, just to let the other builders know if it is a viable proposition on these types of engine.

John