Rotary valve help

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wagon173

Reaction score
Has anybody ever built a rotary valve without a rotary table? I'm going to finish the rest of the launch engine before I cut the grooves out of the rotary valve so that I can try to take the best approach I can for now. I'd rather not take a chance on a cheap rotary table as I have no experience with them and don't have the patience to park the project for a few weeks until I can afford a decent one. I was thinking about marking the degree points I need on my lathe chuck with a protractor then chucking the part, putting on my milling attachment and using a dremel with an arbor and saw. Anybody ever taken this approach? Anything I'm overlooking?

Not exactly sure which engine you are building, but I have seen people cut the groove in the a parting tool and then use JB weld to block off the bits that affect the timing. Its a little crude, but might get you by until you get better equipment.

Brian

Nevermind. I looked at the saw blades and cutoff wheels I have for my dremel and none of them are thick enough. It needs to be .100. I think my plan now is to mount some round stock in the milling vice and turn a custom saw tool out of drill rod then harden it. I'll mount the tool in the mill and turn the valve on the axis of the round stock with a set of needle nose vice grips. For advertizing as a beginners first project, this kit seems to require an awful lot of special tools.

Te_gui, didn't see your post. I'll keep that in mind though if my new idea flops. JB is one that isn't in short supply in my shop :p

Oh, and I'm building the LMS Launch engine kit. It's the first of a series of three. I believe next is a horizontal and last is a locomotive.