Raw materiel for casting ??

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ksor

Reaction score
I'm a complete newbie to this casting - the only things I have casted is lead for my fishing rod years back.

Now I seldom go fishing and take a beer instead and I have got lots of these beer cans - can they be used as raw materiel for casting a flywheel, frames or stuff like that for models ?

yes and no, First the cans are coated both inside and out with a plastic type coating, one to keep the product fresh and the other to keep the printing ink on the outside.

No going along with keeping them clean and free of trash and moisture inside. If they are crushed water or other liquid can be trapped inside and water expands something like 1,100to 1,200 times when changed to steam.

And if you weigh them you will see that even for a small casting you will need a boatload.

Plus the fact that the smoke and fumes from the coatings may be toxic!

http://www.backyardmetalcasting.com/forums The guy that started the above forum. Started by beverage cans and aluminum lawn chairs.

Biggest reason is the old Time, Fuel, Money equation.

Takes to much time, you use to much fuel and you waste to much money.

Its best to get alloys specific to casting. They pour better. Alloys that are inteded to be formed are different and can have issues. As long as you start with cast scrap you should be fine though for most things.

Another problem with alu cans is that they turn to mostly oxide when they melt due to the thinness of the walls.

Good industrial supply shops should stock ingots locally. We just picked up 69lbs of silicon bronze for some projects. Local price was $5 a pound. 3x ~20 lb ingots.