Question on drilling brass parts

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Metal one

Reaction score
Hello Everyone
I am a novice builded have a few questions does anyone now make drill bits for the unique purpose of drilling brass ?
or do all bits need to be modified first before use in order to stop the bit from grabbing the part when drilling into brass.
If so who makes the best drill bits for soft metal or best standard for metal drilling .equipment Old General Canada with Jacobs chuck size 0-1/2 or 0- 13 mm body Any help would be appreciated

Hello Everyone
I am a novice builded have a few questions does anyone now make drill bits for the unique purpose of drilling brass ?
or do all bits need to be modified first before use in order to stop the bit from grabbing the part when drilling into brass.
If so who makes the best drill bits for soft metal or best standard for metal drilling .equipment Old General Canada with Jacobs chuck size 0-1/2 or 0- 13 mm body Any help would be appreciated
You do not need special drills for brass. Buy a set and dub the leading ( cutting edge) edge with a stone or diamond file.
When you look straight down on a new drill you see two sharp edges. Hold the diamond file so it goes straight across the edge.
The hone will be at 90° to the drill. Usually a half dozen strokes with the hone on each lip will be sufficent.
The brass will drill without grabbing, most of the time.
My grandfather had special brass drills. They looked more like a reamer with the cutting edge 4 fasceted and dubbed. The flutes were straight instead of a spiral.
I have an inexpensive set that I dubbed about 5 or 6 drills for brass. The case is marked Brass so i know certain drills are for brass only.