Question of scale

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

johnnyo

Reaction score
Hello
I recently started playing around with DraftSight and I liked this french twin marine steam engine but thought it rather small. My boiler size is to be around 7" did. and I'd like to see this engine paired up to it with 1" bore/stroke. I first ran the mm dim's by converting to 1/16" to mm. So 10 mm would be 5/8" Then I divided !.0" by the .8125 bore to get a scale factor of 1.231. I plan to draw in this scale to produce the desired scale engine with 1" bores. I noticed that the dim. don't always work out to evan fractions, like the 1.615 for cylinder height I got. If I convert a mm drawing to a 1/16" english version, enlarging itI know, would I not be able to scale it up without running into bastard sizes that may compromise the build later. I may be missing something here, I'm not sure.
Any opinion appreciated, Thanks!
Johnny O

Hi John,

Using 1mm = 1/16" gives a scale of almost 1.6:1

i.e. 1mm = 0.0394
1/16" = 0.0625"

The usual quick and dirty conversion is 1.5mm, (0.0591") = 1/16"

As you say oddball sizes will appear regardless of what ever is used but another quick and dirty is 25mm = 1"

Some things almost match each other e.g. 5/16" = 8mm

I hope I have not misunderstood your question and the above is of some help

Best Regards
Bob

Its something where you just have to use your own judgement. I would not think that the length of the cylinder at 1.615" is something I would change as its just as easy to machine to that length as it is to 1.625"