PTFE

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mo deller

Reaction score
I have a scrap box of plastic and was wondering if there is a positive way of identifying ptfe.

Peter ???

PTFE is a dull white, feels soapy, and is denser/heavier then other plastics.

FWIW

Density PTFE (lb/in³)
unfilled 0.078 25% Glass filled 0.081 25% carbon filled 0.075

(g/cm³)
unfilled 2.16 25% Glass filled 2.25 25% carbon filled2.08

Same for Polyethylene

Density (lb/in³)
LDPE 0.033 HDPE 0.035 UHMW 0.034

(g/cm³)
LDPE 0.92 HDPE 0.95 UHMW 0.93

http://www.boedeker.com/ Useful site with lots of information

I have some that is I would say milky white and does feel a bit slippy to touch. I would guess it is ptfe but I have no experience so wondered if I could be fooled by something similar.

Rick, I dont know what to do with all the numbers. I guess there must be a formula to work it out from weight and volume but I have no idea how to do it.

Thanks
Peter

The numbers are easy. Just fill a graduated measuring cup with some water, drop a chunk of the material you want to measure, determine the water displacement in cu/in, weigh the piece and calculate the density.

;D Yes I can do the drop it in some water and weigh it bit,it's the calc I dont understand. What is the formula?

Ok I think I have it. Mass divided by volume = density. I get the impression that's very basic and in reality it is more complicated.

How about simple rubbing-test? If it's ptfe, it should be quite slippery against for example brass or steel.

A technican at my place of employ showed me a neat way to identify plastics
- a burn test.

Some won't stay lit, some smoke a lot, some drop small burning gobe of fire - I'm sure there's a chart somewhere on the web.

Marry up the characteristics with the chart and Roberts' married to your Auntie...

f