profile picture

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

robwilk

Reaction score
Hi
I am not very good with these computer things. But have just read a earlier post about adding photos so thought i would have a go I opened up a photo bucket account sent a photo to it with no problems .Then went to my profile page and put the image code in the (have my own pic) space and pressed change profile . but all i get is a box with a cross in the corner where the photo should by . Can any body help .
Thank you
Rob

You can upload your avatar directly from your computer instead of doing the Photobucket bit. 150 x 150 pixel size works best. You will find that option on your profile page.

-T

I have tried that before and nothing has happened i think it is because i have a very slow Internet connection due to my location it spends ages uploading then when it finishes there is nothing there so went down the photo bucket rout . I have successfully got the photo to photo bucket even though it took about 20mins to upload but cant get it from there to my profile page. Once again i am a complete computer idiot as you can probably tell :p
Rob

Rob,

You may be able to decrease your upload time by resizing your pictures BEFORE you upload them. There are numerous free resizing programs available. I use PixResizer, available from...

http://bluefive.pair.com/

800 x 600 is about the maximum you should use for pictures in a thread. Of course, you can use smaller sizes if that helps speed the process. 640 x 480 is fine for most pictures.

I have two folders on my desktop, PICS and PICLETS. I've set up the resizing program to resize all the pictures in the former and store the resized pictures in the latter. (The program remembers these settings so there is no need to reenter them each time.)