Printed circuit boards

Discussion in 'General Engine Discussion' started by Gordon, Mar 7, 2015.

Help Support HMEM by donating:

  1. Mar 13, 2015 #21

    canadianhorsepower

    canadianhorsepower

    canadianhorsepower

    Well-Known Member HMEM Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,671
    Likes Received:
    320
    Hi Ron
    you did make it hard for yourself.
    never mind the part number, just go generic. Ex PB 2 button
    and the measure scale is in the picture, is it match your's use it.
    I've been building my own PCB for years and love it, so does my students.
    You can even get an etch resistant marker and simply draw it by hand and then print your board. et voila.
    of course the more complicated circuits need more attention
    good luck

    Luc
     
  2. Mar 13, 2015 #22

    TorontoBuilder

    TorontoBuilder

    TorontoBuilder

    John

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    82
    Ron, I found the exact same thing.

    I had parts I wanted to use but that were not in the parts library anywhere.
    The advantage of eagle is that you can create and add parts to a library. Thats how I got most of my parts entered. If you can measure model parts you can measure electronic parts... or get info from datasheets.

    Of course, somehow I managed to allow an error to creep into one of my parts and I never did a final review before sending to fab.

    So for those who want to try it I'll add one caution... before finalizing a part double check dimensions or get this :fan:
     
  3. Mar 14, 2015 #23

    kf2qd

    kf2qd

    kf2qd

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    36
    It is easy to create your own libraries of parts. I have often done it because I did not care for the way whoever created it. That, and using older devices that were not available..

    I have also made boards from copper clad with .025 holes on .1" spacing. Drew my pattern with a black fine point sharpy.
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2015
    canadianhorsepower likes this.
  4. Mar 14, 2015 #24

    canadianhorsepower

    canadianhorsepower

    canadianhorsepower

    Well-Known Member HMEM Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,671
    Likes Received:
    320
    this also goes BEFORE machining, you mentione yourself you didn't input th proper value for one of your parts:fan:
    this is a hobby,can we choose what we prefer:hDe:
    show us your circuit so we can comment
     
  5. Mar 14, 2015 #25

    TorontoBuilder

    TorontoBuilder

    TorontoBuilder

    John

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    82
    The fault is not in the circuit schematic, but rather the part I added to the libary to represent the a4988 driver board. Pololu's board is 0.6" x 0.8" but I accidentally made my part 0.7" x 0.8", which resulted in my header location being off by 0.1"

    See pic.

    I can stll use the boards but I'll have to locate the driver board off the main board which wont be as clean, elegant and most importantly it wont be as compact

    2015-03-13_2255.jpg

    photo (6).jpg
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2015
  6. Mar 14, 2015 #26

    rodw

    rodw

    rodw

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,138
    Likes Received:
    335
    John, you can't make up an adapter from a bit of perf board? Solder stepper driver to it and then add another row of pins to connect to your board?
     
  7. Mar 14, 2015 #27

    canadianhorsepower

    canadianhorsepower

    canadianhorsepower

    Well-Known Member HMEM Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,671
    Likes Received:
    320
    If you solder 90degree heather pin in your board this will allow you to pigy back mount your driver on top of it
    cheers
    Luc
     
    rodw likes this.
  8. Mar 14, 2015 #28

    cwebs

    cwebs

    cwebs

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    13
    Gordon, I am 67 years old and it took me about three days of playing with, reading, and watching vids to get over the hump. Then I was making my PCBs. The Library had SOOOOO many parts that it was the slow down. Once you get into it you can disable the Libraries you don't need. Every thing is free and your time is all you will have invested.

    I would make my board and gcode then go to the CNC and put in a spring loaded pencil and run the gcode on a peace of paper. When I was happy then it was chips away. Now I will say I ain't no expert, but my boards work for me. Carl
     
  9. Mar 14, 2015 #29

    TorontoBuilder

    TorontoBuilder

    TorontoBuilder

    John

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    82
    BINGO!

    good solution and i have proto board on hand.
    thx Rod
     
    rodw likes this.
  10. Mar 14, 2015 #30

    TorontoBuilder

    TorontoBuilder

    TorontoBuilder

    John

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    82
    I have some 90 degree header pins... perhaps I can put another 90 bend in the longer pins and come close to a 0.1" offset. I'll try this on another of my 3 boards.

    Thanks Luc

    Good morning for me, two free solutions w/o breaking a sweat thinking for myself ;)
     
    rodw likes this.
  11. Mar 14, 2015 #31

    rodw

    rodw

    rodw

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,138
    Likes Received:
    335
    Just goes to show that group input leads to better solutions and decisons. :D:D
     
    TorontoBuilder likes this.

Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page