PM Research No. 1 Build

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rhitee93

Project of the Month Winner!!!
Project of the Month Winner
Reaction score
A build log for a PM Research No.1 engine.

Hi all, I thought I would start a thread to share my build of a PMR #1BI from a casting kit. I am actually about 10 hours into this build so it will take me a few posts to catch up.

First, here is a shot of all the castings that come with the kit. I have only built one engine from castings before, so I am not a expert at quality, but for the most part these seem pretty good. For reference, the flywheel will finish out at over 6", and the bore will be 1".

KitParts.jpg

Last edited:
I decided to start working with the flywheel for a few reasons. First, it is the easiest to plan out the order of the machining operations. Second, it was the one part that I was afraid would be a bit of a mouthful for my 10” lathe so I wanted to try it out to see what issues I would have. Third, it is the fastest significant part to complete, and I am a sucker for instant gratification.

With my particular selection of lathe chucks and jaws, the best approach for me was to use a 3-jaw to hold onto one side of the hub while I made the cleanup passes on the other side. I would have preferred to hold onto the rim, but my 6” chuck didn’t have enough reach to get out that far with outside jaws, and I couldn’t get the inside jaws to clear the spokes.