PC based DRO?

Discussion in 'CNC Machines and Conversions' started by Rivergypsy, Apr 3, 2013.

  1. Apr 3, 2013 #1

    Rivergypsy

    Rivergypsy

    Rivergypsy

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    222
    Just something that I've been pondering, but does anybody know of a PC based DRO system, please?

    I've found Yadro on the net, but the boards are out of stock, but I keep wondering how feasible it is to build one myself.

    The other option would be something Arduino based. I've found one of these that works through an Android phone, but I'd be loathe to leave one of these next to flying swarf.

    Any help or pointers gratefully recieved! :confused:

    Cheers
    Dave
     
  2. Apr 3, 2013 #2

    microcraft

    microcraft

    microcraft

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Android (or "Smartphones") have indeed become a big fixture of our lives. However, I don't think they are yet up to the task of being a DRO display. Imagine being in the middle of a tight tolerance cut and the phone rings :)

    I like the idea of dedicated devices for certain tasks and your PC Based DRO would fit the bill.
     
    Rivergypsy likes this.
  3. Apr 3, 2013 #3

    dman

    dman

    dman

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    36
    http://www.shumatech.com/web/products/dro-550/construction

    this could be fun... also the source code may help you/someone write a dro application for a pc if you are set on the pc thing. you'll need to know how to read different encoders. also you could probably just use cnc software on a pc if it has support for different encoders.
     
    gabby likes this.
  4. Apr 3, 2013 #4

    n4zou

    n4zou

    n4zou

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    31
    New Android Tablets can be found for less than $100 now. This makes them suitable for use as dedicated devices.
    Do-it-yourself DRO with Arduino and Android

    [​IMG]
     
    jgedde and microcraft like this.
  5. Apr 3, 2013 #5

    lohring

    lohring

    lohring

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    77
    I built a YARDRO. It needs a really old laptop with a serial connection, but the programming is open source. I'm not sure the hardware is available any more.

    Lohring Miller
     
    gabby likes this.
  6. Apr 3, 2013 #6

    dnalot

    dnalot

    dnalot

    Project of the Month Winner !!!

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    417
    You might look at Artsoft's Mach 3 cnc controller software. It is made to be used by almost any hardware and can be configured a 100.000 different ways. You can also make your own custom screen layout. I have used it since I built my CnC machine 13 years ago. It was version Mach 1 and I only paid $100, with a lifetime free upgrade.

    What do you plan to use for position senders?
     
    Rivergypsy likes this.
  7. Apr 4, 2013 #7

    Teus

    Teus

    Teus

    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    5
    74Sprint likes this.
  8. Apr 4, 2013 #8

    jgedde

    jgedde

    jgedde

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    117
  9. Apr 4, 2013 #9

    ycroosh

    ycroosh

    ycroosh

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    John,
    That's the old version. The new version is even slicker and easier to build :)
    On a serious note, I've been using Android tablet for a DRO for over a year now and a PC before that. (I built the first version in late 2011 when I first got the mini mill) and it's been pretty stable. I had more trouble with the scales being sensitive to noise and ground loops than with the tablet itself.

    Thank you
    Yuriy
     
    Rivergypsy likes this.
  10. Apr 4, 2013 #10

    Rivergypsy

    Rivergypsy

    Rivergypsy

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    222
    Hi guys,

    Thanks for all your feedback on this :)

    I'd planned on using quadrature scales, and also a rotary encoder on the lathe spindle for angular display for live tooling use, and switchable to rpm for general use.

    The Arduino solution looks neat, and i already have one of them, but I do like to get hot swarf pinging around, so I'd like the display to be pretty robust. The Shumtech again looks neat, but it's out of stock at the mo, so I'll give them a chase up.

    If I went the Mach3 route, is it likely to confuse it if it has no motors connected?

    Sorry for what may be dumb questions, but i'm a lot more comfortable with mechanics than electronics... :confused:

    Many thanks
    Dave
     
    gabby likes this.
  11. Jun 18, 2013 #11

    zoltan

    zoltan

    zoltan

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    11
  12. Jun 18, 2013 #12

    jwcnc1911

    jwcnc1911

    jwcnc1911

    -jwcnc191

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    83
    Oh this is awesome!

    I think an old 7" tablet would be perfect!

    I literally was just about to order the 3 axis kit from Techno:

    http://www.star-techno.com/INFO.HTM

    I'm more into do it myself any way. I'll have to dig deeper into this... a portable DRO screen. That'd be easy to do upclose work with tiny tools... lay it right by the vise and move in close. Don't even say anything about safety... we all do it. ;)
     
    gabby likes this.
  13. Jun 18, 2013 #13

    ZipSnipe

    ZipSnipe

    ZipSnipe

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    14
    Careful do not clik that link in post #11 , something weird just happened to my pc , I am running virus scans now!!!
     
  14. Jun 18, 2013 #14

    zoltan

    zoltan

    zoltan

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    11
    That's my link, and there's nothing wrong with it. It goes to my blog on blogspot and it doesn't even have ads. If something weird happened to your PC, it wasn't from my link.
     
  15. Jun 18, 2013 #15

    ZipSnipe

    ZipSnipe

    ZipSnipe

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    14
    Yep sorry Zoltan, it might have been from the sight before yours, just adware so nothing serious, I will try the link again here in a sec once my last scan is complete.

    Its been a while since I have come across a malware site that basically takes over your browser and thats what I thought I was encountering when I hit your link.
     
  16. Jun 18, 2013 #16

    ZipSnipe

    ZipSnipe

    ZipSnipe

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    14
    Link is good loads fine, better safe than sorry. So please accept my apologies for the false alarm zoltan.
     
    zoltan likes this.
  17. Jun 22, 2013 #17

    zoltan

    zoltan

    zoltan

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    11
  18. Jun 22, 2013 #18

    Rivergypsy

    Rivergypsy

    Rivergypsy

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    222
    Nice work, Zoltan! I've got a Kindle Fire here with a duff USB port that I think I'll try and ressurect for this ;)
     
  19. Jun 22, 2013 #19

    ZipSnipe

    ZipSnipe

    ZipSnipe

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    14
    So your 3 axis will plug into the box and then into your pc or tablet?

    Looks good!!!
     
  20. Jun 22, 2013 #20

    zoltan

    zoltan

    zoltan

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    11
    The three axis plug into the box, and the box communicates with my Android phone or tablet via Bluetooth. There is no direct connection between the box and phone/tablet, and the phone/tablet needs to have Bluetooth capability. The cable coming out of the box is for power only. The app is written for Android 3.0 or greater, so I don't see it working with a PC.
     
    ZipSnipe likes this.

Share This Page