PC based DRO?

Help Support HMEM:

Rivergypsy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2010
Messages
432
Reaction score
222
Just something that I've been pondering, but does anybody know of a PC based DRO system, please?

I've found Yadro on the net, but the boards are out of stock, but I keep wondering how feasible it is to build one myself.

The other option would be something Arduino based. I've found one of these that works through an Android phone, but I'd be loathe to leave one of these next to flying swarf.

Any help or pointers gratefully recieved! :confused:

Cheers
Dave
 

microcraft

Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
8
Reaction score
2
Android (or "Smartphones") have indeed become a big fixture of our lives. However, I don't think they are yet up to the task of being a DRO display. Imagine being in the middle of a tight tolerance cut and the phone rings :)

I like the idea of dedicated devices for certain tasks and your PC Based DRO would fit the bill.
 

dman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2012
Messages
220
Reaction score
36
http://www.shumatech.com/web/products/dro-550/construction

this could be fun... also the source code may help you/someone write a dro application for a pc if you are set on the pc thing. you'll need to know how to read different encoders. also you could probably just use cnc software on a pc if it has support for different encoders.
 

n4zou

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
320
Reaction score
31
Android (or "Smartphones") have indeed become a big fixture of our lives. However, I don't think they are yet up to the task of being a DRO display. Imagine being in the middle of a tight tolerance cut and the phone rings :)

I like the idea of dedicated devices for certain tasks and your PC Based DRO would fit the bill.
New Android Tablets can be found for less than $100 now. This makes them suitable for use as dedicated devices.
Do-it-yourself DRO with Arduino and Android

 

lohring

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2011
Messages
326
Reaction score
105
I built a YARDRO. It needs a really old laptop with a serial connection, but the programming is open source. I'm not sure the hardware is available any more.

Lohring Miller
 

dnalot

Project of the Month Winner !!!
HMEM Supporter
Joined
Jan 29, 2013
Messages
490
Reaction score
605
You might look at Artsoft's Mach 3 cnc controller software. It is made to be used by almost any hardware and can be configured a 100.000 different ways. You can also make your own custom screen layout. I have used it since I built my CnC machine 13 years ago. It was version Mach 1 and I only paid $100, with a lifetime free upgrade.

What do you plan to use for position senders?
 

ycroosh

Active Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2013
Messages
27
Reaction score
7
John,
That's the old version. The new version is even slicker and easier to build :)
On a serious note, I've been using Android tablet for a DRO for over a year now and a PC before that. (I built the first version in late 2011 when I first got the mini mill) and it's been pretty stable. I had more trouble with the scales being sensitive to noise and ground loops than with the tablet itself.

Thank you
Yuriy
 

Rivergypsy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2010
Messages
432
Reaction score
222
Hi guys,

Thanks for all your feedback on this :)

I'd planned on using quadrature scales, and also a rotary encoder on the lathe spindle for angular display for live tooling use, and switchable to rpm for general use.

The Arduino solution looks neat, and i already have one of them, but I do like to get hot swarf pinging around, so I'd like the display to be pretty robust. The Shumtech again looks neat, but it's out of stock at the mo, so I'll give them a chase up.

If I went the Mach3 route, is it likely to confuse it if it has no motors connected?

Sorry for what may be dumb questions, but i'm a lot more comfortable with mechanics than electronics... :confused:

Many thanks
Dave
 

jwcnc1911

-jwcnc191
Joined
Mar 18, 2013
Messages
602
Reaction score
83
Oh this is awesome!

I think an old 7" tablet would be perfect!

I literally was just about to order the 3 axis kit from Techno:

http://www.star-techno.com/INFO.HTM

I'm more into do it myself any way. I'll have to dig deeper into this... a portable DRO screen. That'd be easy to do upclose work with tiny tools... lay it right by the vise and move in close. Don't even say anything about safety... we all do it. ;)
 

ZipSnipe

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2013
Messages
121
Reaction score
14
Careful do not clik that link in post #11 , something weird just happened to my pc , I am running virus scans now!!!
 

zoltan

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2013
Messages
117
Reaction score
15
Careful do not clik that link in post #11 , something weird just happened to my pc , I am running virus scans now!!!
That's my link, and there's nothing wrong with it. It goes to my blog on blogspot and it doesn't even have ads. If something weird happened to your PC, it wasn't from my link.
 

ZipSnipe

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2013
Messages
121
Reaction score
14
Yep sorry Zoltan, it might have been from the sight before yours, just adware so nothing serious, I will try the link again here in a sec once my last scan is complete.

Its been a while since I have come across a malware site that basically takes over your browser and thats what I thought I was encountering when I hit your link.
 

ZipSnipe

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2013
Messages
121
Reaction score
14
Link is good loads fine, better safe than sorry. So please accept my apologies for the false alarm zoltan.
 

Rivergypsy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2010
Messages
432
Reaction score
222
Nice work, Zoltan! I've got a Kindle Fire here with a duff USB port that I think I'll try and ressurect for this ;)
 

ZipSnipe

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2013
Messages
121
Reaction score
14
So your 3 axis will plug into the box and then into your pc or tablet?

Looks good!!!
 

zoltan

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2013
Messages
117
Reaction score
15
The three axis plug into the box, and the box communicates with my Android phone or tablet via Bluetooth. There is no direct connection between the box and phone/tablet, and the phone/tablet needs to have Bluetooth capability. The cable coming out of the box is for power only. The app is written for Android 3.0 or greater, so I don't see it working with a PC.
 
2

Latest posts

Group Builder
Top