Panther Pup Help - Won't Run!

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I made new rings using a different method (a real winner!). This morning I ran a propane torch (unlit) into the carb opening and it ran! Only for a few seconds, but it ran. Ran very well too. Sounded great!

Now I need to make a proper carb for it and I think she'll be a winner...

John

hello John.
Congrat on the runner. I am in to making rings and I like to know what method you where using. you know this is my first attempt of making CI-rings.
Only been using Viton rings on my engine(s)

best Regards
CS

Here she is running on propane...

[ame="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1utX_u7DwiM"]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1utX_u7DwiM[/ame]

John

Lessons Learned:

1) Piston rings can't be round enough... More to follow.

2) Despite making valve cages and drilling the valve guide and valve seat in the same lathe setup, the valves did not seal. This was probably due to drill walk when drilling through the cage and deformation of the cage when pressed into the head.
The right way to do it to make a piloted valve seat cutter and cut a very narrow seat. Near perfect seal after doing this.

3) An inexpensive Acro lap is the cat's meow for making accurate, taper free cylinders. Can't recommend this enough!

John

hello John.
Congrat on the runner. I am in to making rings and I like to know what method you where using. you know this is my first attempt of making CI-rings.
Only been using Viton rings on my engine(s)

best Regards
CS

Hi CS,

I'll try to take a stab at the method I used... Sounds hard but it actually was fairly easy to do.

1) Cut a tube of cast iron with the ID the desired ID of the rings. Turn the OD 0.005 oversize.
2) Part off rings.