Open Column Twin

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
tel said:
That's a seriously nice engine. After 30 years of building steam engines, I'm still not quite sure that my skills are up to taking on something like that

Thanks! From a machining standpoint, there's not much difference between gas engines and steam engines. Gas engines are just more complex, since they have the additional worry of fuel and ignition systems.

Chuck

After a sebatical of a couple of months I got some more done on my open column twin. Actually, I was having a problem getting the valves to seal and I've been pouting about it for two months! :mad:

I finally solved the problem tonight. I dressed the back of a small, dremel mounted grinding wheel to 45 degrees to match the valve seats. I then made brass bushing that fit inside the valve guide and provided the right inside diameter for the shank on the dremel grinding wheel.

I pushed the brass bushing into the valve seat from the bottom side, then pushed the shank of the grinding wheel up through the bushing so the dressed back of the stone rested in the valve seat. Using a variable speed electric drill I spun the stone until the seats were nice and shiny all the way around.

I put the engine all back together and I now have good compression on both cylinders! Maybe I can get this thing finished up and running.

ValveGrinder1.jpg

Hi cfellows

I know that for grinding in the valves of engines, they use grinding compound. You can also use some toothpaste (the one with abrasive particles). Then you put some paste on the valve seat and grind the valve in during some minutes (depends on how good it was prepared before, on what materials were used for the valve and its seat and on what you are using for grinding compound)

Florian

Florian said: