Nice coil and ignition

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello my friends,
Just wanted to tel you about my new ignition system for my Farm Boy hit'n miss engine. I was looking for a suitable coil for it and found this:

http://www.icstation.com/15kv-high-...ule-18650-core-transformer-suite-p-12099.html

This is a very cheap and small coil and it actually works. Paid $5 shipped. It's a module that generate s constant arc, but we just want to use it as a single (or multiple) spark coil so you won't need all the components. Just use the coil and maybe the pcb to hold it. The low voltage side has two windings, but we just use the one with the thickest wires.

I also made up an ignition driver for it. I do electronic development for a living, so I can do such things. It is a buzz ignition, giving a series of sparks and reduces the number of sparks as the rpm increases. It is experimental, but at least it works for the low rpm hit'n miss engine. Haven't tested it on higher rpm engines. The output transistor is a bit overkill (it is for car coils), but it is specially designed for ignition applications and won't brake down. You can use either a hall sensor or points. It is a lot of various hall sensors to chose from, I tested several and found the one in the schematic to be fine. I doesn't work well over 6V, but it generates a strong spark.
So if you can do a little soldering, it is worth a try.
This coil will work fine with just points or another driver too.

Rudy
IMG_20190324_154537.jpg
Rudys ignition.PNG
IMG_20190324_162540.jpg

Thanks bruedney, even better!
Have you tested it? Mine works very well on my low compression Hit and Miss engine. Can´t tell if it creates enough energy for higher compression engines.
Rudy

Hi every one,