Newish ...

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clivel

Reaction score
I was an occasional lurker, who soon become a frequent lurker, who in the past few months has become a registered lurker :)

I grew up in South Africa before moving to Vancouver Canada in the early 90's where I develop software for a living.

The last few years have seen me as more of an armchair modeller than a practising one, however I have recently set up a workbench in the corner of the garage and have started and are making very slow progress on a Don Young Rail Motor in 5" gauge. Actually slow progress is an understatement, in reality all I have are the tender frames marked out and a few holes drilled.

After having now actually cut metal, I realised that I am being a trifle ambitious especially with my limited equipment and first need to get some basic metalworking skills under my belt. So my current plan is to concentrate on a simple "wobbler" and maybe some basic items of tooling during the next few weeks/months.

Clive

Hi Clive, wEc1.Building a wobbler is a good way to start.
Bill L.

Hi and welcome Clive!! ;D

There are a few of us South Africans on the forum.
Some still live there and others have relocated!

Any pictures of the machines you have at the moment?
And maybe a pic of the build?

Andrew

Hiya Clive,
Welcome to the best forum for information and encouragement. I am also new to the hobby and I have built three wobblers with great success. All of them Elmer Verburg designs. (#25, #18, #15)
Alan

Clive,

Welcome to our forum. wEc1

Best Regards
Bob

Clive-

Welcome. You've got the right outlook. Start simple and work your way up and you will be successful.

-Bob

Thanks everyone for the warm welcome :)
Great to hear that there are other South Africans on the forum as well.