Newby wanting to build an engine.

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tevans9129

Reaction score
Hello to all, I have been reading and looking since coming across this site by accident and have become fascinated with the model engines and the work folks do with them. I would like to try my hand at building one of these and needless to say, I am a rank beginner.

After looking at many designs, the Gerry’s Beam engine is very attractive to me but the question is, am I being unrealistic with this as a first try?

Many years past, I did some basic gunsmithing and built some reloading tools such as swaging dies for .224 and .357 bullets. I have a small knee end mill with DRO and a Rockwell 10” lathe plus an 8” rotary table and an index head.

Thanks for your comments and suggestions. Ted

How easily discouraged are you?

The nice thing about a beginners engine, like a simple wobbler, is that it's designed so that you can make beginner's screwups and either still have it work, or not waste much time fixing it. A super beautiful reproduction of a vintage engine, or something designed to be of that period, is going to require a lot more skill to get it working, and a lot more plain work.

I'd get the plans for the super fancy thing you want to build and tack them to the wall behind your bench. Then I'd get plans for a beginners engine and build that, remembering that what you're doing is building the skills you need to build the fancy one.

If you just have to start on the fancy engine -- plan on making every part twice, and maybe a dozen times for the critical ones. If that's going to make you give up, then take up golf.

Thanks for the comments and suggestions, Tim.

"How easily discouraged are you? "