Newbie from Virginia

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lloyd-ss

HMEM Supporting Member
Reaction score
After months of stumbling around the internet, I finally found HMEM! Thank you, thank you. I have been looking for you, and didn't even know it.
Airguns have been my passion for over 10 years, and I love the science and the building more than the shooting. But building a not too small model diesel engine has always been in the back of mind. An unresolved discontent. Then several months ago I found Find Hansen's lovely engines. Well, that did it. I am a decent hobby machinist, but solid how-to information on building a diesel engine was tough to find. I had resolved myself to the fact that it was going to be a learn-as-you-go experience. But even with all the dead ends, learning is always good. I started making a flywheel from a short piece of 8" steel pipe that I had. I figured if I got thru that, I'd have too much invested to call it quits.
Then today I was trying to find info about crankshaft balancing and ran across an old thread on this forum, and thought, WOW, these guys are pretty sharp!
So I think you've snagged me. The flywheel that is still in process is in the avatar, I hope.
I've done some tech videos about airguns under the name of Airgun Lab on YouTube, so I know the challenges that diesel pressures present. But learning is what its all about. I look forward to learning from, and participating in, HMEM.
Thank you, Lloyd-ss

Looking at that flywheel, I'd say that "Decent hobby machinist" is a pretty accurate description! Good to have you on board Lloyd. Cheers, Peter

Thanks Peter. Of course, you notice that it is not a close-up, LOL.