Newbie Burner and Boiler

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gemhund

Reaction score
Well, I am a complete newbie to this craft . I have for the last while been trawling this site with wide eyes at all the beautiful work that is shown here. And I also have learnt an immense amount. There is nothing like seeing a picture of a process on a lathe for instance to light the AHA bulb.
I bought a Liney RV-1 motor on E bay and it arrived yesterday. So now I am figuring out what to do and to convert all the measurments to metric, being South African/Dutch.
I decided to buy one because getting the raw material on ST Maarten, where I live, is almost impossible.
At the same time I have been building a vertical boiler. This is something I can get my head around quite easily unlike the Liney. I still have to figure out how it works
I have worked on two and four stroke motors lots, but I have never even seen a live steam engine ever. All very interesting.
I made a gas burner yesterday. I have an OK set of hand skills, being a goldsmith, so I approach anything hands first and then machine. :)
First-Burner-Solder-1.jpg

I made a brass ring out of 1mm sheet and silver soldered it to a brass base.
First-Burner-Top.jpg

I made a domed ring and drilled the holes with my hanging motor.
First-Burner-2.jpg

I turned out all the mixer stuff. I had to play around with the holes and jet a bit. Eventually I made a .4mm jet and that worked.
First-Burner-running.jpg

Here it is running on propane. 50mm by 25mm.( 1 x2 inches)
Ok, so far so good, I am not in low orbit yet ;D
My boiler has a brass body and copper top and bottom. I had to cast a plate of copper yesterday, because one can't get 2mm copper on the island. So today I will roll it out on my mill. I will post pictures of that if it works.
Cheers, Hans