Newbie Ball Turner

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ozzie46

Reaction score

Hi All

Just thought I would post a pic of my attempt at Steve Bedairs' Ball Turner.

Guess where the ball is going? ;D The 5/16 bolt worked til I can make a proper lever.

Ball Turner3.jpg

Nice work Ozzie... [edit] Ah haa! Just a bit of reading later and I can now say..... Hi Ron ;)

You don't seem to be having any issues with using it ;D

I've been using mine for over 2 years now... Awesome piece of tooling.... I'm so glad I found all those free plans on Steve's site.

It looks like your lathe is of the 7x12 size? I made one for a machine of that size not long ago... Made the lever 4.5" long before the ball was screwed on and it seemed to work well for the new owner. (thought it might help?)

Happy turning :D

Ralph.

Thanks Ralph

The lathe is a Cummins 7 x 12. I wish it was bigger but you have go with what you can afford :).

I may have to tighten up the tool holder to the plate some, I was getting a lot of chatter. I may make a separate holder for concave turning. With the holder I have now, it forces me to put ball blank farther from the chuck. It could be just the play the ball turner it self.

I'm really new at this so I will be asking a lot of questions on some of my projects.

I have been reading the posts on this site for several weeks now and it is the best site of its kind I've seen. SWSMBO says I spend to much time on the computer. ::) Oh well so what!

Ron

Hey Ron,

Nice ball turner. Ralph twisted my arm until I made one. Right Ralph? :big:

I'll have to give you a Karma point for this post.

Bernd

Bernd said:
Hey Ron,

Nice ball turner. Ralph twisted my arm until I made one. Right Ralph? :big:

I'll have to give you a Karma point for this post.

Bernd

Make that 2 karma points :)