New Member from São Paulo, Brazil

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

agmachado

Reaction score
Hello, guys!!!

First, I believe that join this community is a great privilege!

I am a systems analyst and I live in Sao Paulo, Brazil. The few time I have studied about the art of building small things, especially internal combustion engines. When I found this site, I was very impressed with the degree of insight has been achieved, which made me even more enthusiastic to start building too.

Here in Brazil, things are relatively complicated. There are no factories of small lathes or milling machines. We have to import from the U.S. or Europe and we are practically stolen by the government with 60% tax.

Fortunately, I found the site Sherline, where prices (plus the taxes) will be reasonable for my start. The Sherline Ultimate Machine Shop package, containing a turn model 5400, a mill model 2000 and a few accessories will cost me about $ 7000, more than double the value in the United States.

I also checked the possibility of buying used machines, but they are great and I have no space at home. I live in an apartment and the Sherline machines will be complicated because of the noise.

Even as a systems analyst with 35 years of age, have skills with tools, my father always worked with mounts and I studied auto mechanics when younger. Build a small engine has always been among my ideas.

I completed my collection of Model Engine Builder magazine and now I want to buy issues of Strictly I. C. for collection too. Very cool these magazines. Do you recommend any other magazine interesting?

Initially I plan to find a plans to build and develop the machining techniques and after complete my own drawings for start its construction.