ML4 setup

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JCSteam

Reaction score
Been a while since I visited this forum.

I've been busy with the kids, but I've also been hard at work:)

Having got the lathe in the shed I then went to see how far out the tail stock was, it needs some fine tuning. *:D

So a shopping list. - belt for drive, a spanner to fit the bolts on the gibs, and x8 M8 nuts bolts washers :)

Time to set it up properly

20170819_130050.jpg

20170819_152950.jpg

20170819_152958.jpg

20170819_153008.jpg

20170819_195248.jpg

20170819_195226.jpg

20170820_140702.jpg

20170820_135712.jpg

How do I embed photos to the page??:)

Managed to load from my mobile, sorry about the top three photos

Done a little more in between looking after the kids.*

This is my first attempt at setting up a tool in the tool post and shimming it to the correct height, sorry poor lighting so pics aren't great, need to shed some light on the situation. **

This was one method to check, using the jaws of the 4 jaw to check it's alignment as the cross slide was fed across it's face. I think it's either spot on or just above centre. Will find out when the chuck starts spinning. *(The jaws are not clamped tight against one another, not even touching).*

Everything has been given an oil over too. And is a lot smoother now.*

20170822_191041.jpg

20170822_191105.jpg