Micros

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dave G

Reaction score
Posting on my twin build about finishing with sandpaper got me to thinking about when I was an apprentice. We apprentices got to spend a few months in the metalurgy dept where I worked. We were a bearing manufacturer that used many types of steels in our bearings. We did our own heat treating and this is what my father did for many years there. Needless to say when the only hourly guy that could run every furnace in the place's kid got to spend time in the met lab he got the red carpet treatment. One of the things that they did was to check the structure of the steel after heat treating. Very important when you don't want a wheel to fall off your car. To do this we made what they called micros. You cut a section of the part away that you wanted to check and set it in with a powder that when heated and compressed it would form a disk about 1.5" in dia and about 1" tall. The metal piece would be suspended in the disk. Then you had to sand the surface you wanted to check to a mirror finish.

Once the surface finish was good enough the micro would be placed into a micrscope to be looked at. Now I should have paid better attention at what they were doing but mind you I think I was 20 at the time. The most I can remember is the head metalurgist, who was a very smart fellow of Italian descent, and commanded a great amount of power, was very picky with the quality of the finish on the micros. If the finish wasn't good enough it was sometimes hurled at you accompanied with a verbal insult to the quality of your usefulness. You didn't want to be on the wrong end of this to many times. I quickly learned how to sand to very fine finish at a very young age. I never got a micro hurled at me but I do remember having to duck for cover a couple of times.