maximat v10

Discussion in 'Buy / Sell / Trade' started by no1chevyboy, Sep 5, 2019.

Help Support HMEM by donating:

  1. Sep 5, 2019 #1

    no1chevyboy

    no1chevyboy

    no1chevyboy

    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    usa
    looking for switches for emco maximat v10
     
  2. Sep 7, 2019 #2

    no1chevyboy

    no1chevyboy

    no1chevyboy

    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    usa
    can anyone help with locating the jean renaud switches in my emco lathe?
     
  3. Sep 7, 2019 #3

    gsg

    gsg

    gsg

    New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    usually you can use any switch with teh same function. But your qoestion was switches, which one doe you need. Is it is one of the old mechanical switches with special functions it would de better is you rewire the machine completely. For htis job you need elecrical knowledge and in most cases a bigger switch box. But also you did not mention the type of motor which is used in the machine. It is a single phase or a ther pahse motor? Also pictures are a good help, and of course the part number of your switch.
    Guenter
     
  4. Sep 9, 2019 #4

    no1chevyboy

    no1chevyboy

    no1chevyboy

    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    usa
    the motor is original two speed single phase the switches are single action with 4 contacts the internal plastic pieces that hold contacts have failed just need those pieces all contacts are good and switch body contacts are switch.jpg 9-5 010.JPG 9-5 010.JPG
    good
     
  5. Sep 20, 2019 #5

    MrMetric

    MrMetric

    MrMetric

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tranquility Base, Moon
    I suspect you will have a hard time finding those switches. I've always been amazed at how seemingly generic electrical items become geo specific. Many IC chips are like that... Europe has certain preferred brands and types, and America has another. Sure, there are crossovers, but I definitely have found this in the Emco CNC controls that I've repaired. Anyhow, in your case, the V10P is a pretty old machine. Even the Super 11, which replaced the V10P, is no longer produced in its original incarnation (I think they have a different flavor now). Add to this, although Emco Maier isn't unheard of over in the US, it isn't an especially common machine either. So you are fighting two battles. You might want to try Blue Ridge Machinery (if they still exist) though. They used to have lots of Emco Maier tools and parts. Maybe they have a switch for a V10P around. Otherwise you have only a few options. The first is to use your machining skills and fabricate the broken parts. The second is to retrofit the switches with a different type. Frankly, you might be able to add something like a nice mushroom switch for Estop purposes and such. Integrate in a tachometer and you could have a "reason" to justify the "change".

    Good luck!
     
  6. Sep 20, 2019 #6

    no1chevyboy

    no1chevyboy

    no1chevyboy

    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    usa
    ya i know its going to be hard to find, but they had to use this switch in many different applications , the mechanical part may be emco only ? but the electrical part of the switch has many uses, i just was wandering if anyone has looked into that. i just machined up what i needed to repair mine and it works fine but was looking for originals. thanks
     
  7. Sep 21, 2019 #7

    Kerrin Galvin

    Kerrin Galvin

    Kerrin Galvin

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hi, are you a member of the Emco group on Yahoo?
    If not I’d suggest you do, as this has been covered there & solutions posted!!

    Cheers Kerrin
     
  8. Sep 22, 2019 #8

    no1chevyboy

    no1chevyboy

    no1chevyboy

    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    usa
    ok thanks
     
  9. Sep 22, 2019 #9

    Kerrin Galvin

    Kerrin Galvin

    Kerrin Galvin

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hi again,
    Here’s the link to scribe to the Emco group....

    emcov10lathe-subscribe@yahoogroups.com

    I should’ve posted this last time! There a lot of helpful guys on there.

    Cheers Kerrin
     
  10. Sep 22, 2019 #10

    Bazzer

    Bazzer

    Bazzer

    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Manufacturing consultant
    Location:
    Southampton, England
     
  11. Sep 22, 2019 #11

    Bazzer

    Bazzer

    Bazzer

    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Manufacturing consultant
    Location:
    Southampton, England
    Is it just a plastic part that you are needing, what do you think the chances of 3D printing the plastic part are?

    I have a 3D printer that is turning out decent parts but we need to see a part first and then model it.

    I am afraid it is a long time ago that I sold the switch unit from my V10 so I cannot remember anything about it apart from the plastic tops to the switches used to split.

    Regards

    Barrie
     
  12. Sep 22, 2019 #12

    accelo

    accelo

    accelo

    New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    usa

Share This Page