Making a Model Train - Steam Engine

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

princegift

Reaction score
Hi all!
I am a mechanical engineering student. I plan on making a small model train for this project using scrap or easily available materials(as this is a college project I can't just buy any parts).
I am planning to use either a stirling engine or a steam engine for the locomotive.
Could anyone please tell me which engine would be the best for this process?
I prefer steam engine though. An info that could help me get started in a right way would be greatly appreciated.
And any additional details would be greatly helpful!

Thank You.

Hi,

It sounds like this would be your first engine your building, so I would say to build a steam engine. It would be a little more forgiving on the measurements. Just be careful playing with the boiler if you make one, they can get really dangerous really fast.

Jon
4th class Power Engineer

Greetings sir Mr. Jon!
Thank you for your quickest reply. Yes I do understand that a boiler can be very dangerous. But a small boiler used to produce steam for the toy train can be fatally dangerous too?

Stirling engines are quite low power generally, and harder to make for a beginner.

Yes, small boilers can be dangerous.

I would agree with the steam being your first. They can be run on compressed air safely. If you plan on running on track for any distance you will need the boiler.

Greetings Mr. Steve!
Yes I plan on running it on tracks that I will be constructing later and the loco will have to pull some around 3 or 4 light weight coaches.
Any ideas on how shall I choose materials and begin?

Thanks.

Stirling engines are quite low power generally, and harder to make for a beginner.

Yes, small boilers can be dangerous.

Hello and greetings Mr Moderator!