lost wax casting

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

abby

Reaction score
My speciality is lost wax casting which I have been doing for over 20 years.
I got into this from sand casting as I had a need to produce sculptures,
DSCF2836.jpg

business awards,
paperboy.jpg

and classic auto spares,
camlock.jpg

but now concentrate on model engineering castings of the more difficult type.
mostly in gun-metal
DSCF3357.jpg

but also aluminium
DSCF3368.jpg

and nickel-silver
wheelNS.jpg

I have complex patterns rapid prototyped and have had to become proficient with 3D cad,
all3.jpg

black5wheel.jpg

misalignment.jpg

Most of my equipment and process is designed and built in house by me,
DSCF0608.jpg

injector.jpg

always willing to help out on a project and if anyone is interested they can see more on my web-site ;
www.unionsteam.co.uk and forum www.unionsteam.co.uk/forum
these are hosted on my own server so may be slow at times.
regards to all.

Great work , lost wax casting is something i am going to have to get into, what dose the modified ped drill do.
Rob

Hi Rob, the drill press has been converted into a high pressure wax injector , the wax is melted by a small cartridge heater in the reservoir - the copper tube part on the side - and drawn , via a non-return valve , into the cylinder which replaces the quill.
Pressure is applied by the long top handle onto a piston and the wax is forced into a die ,placed on the table ,through the bottom valve. A band heater keeps the nozzle and ram at required temperature using simple temperature controllers.
Injection pressures of 200 psi are possible and dies are machined from aluminium , or cast from low melt alloy(woods metal) , or sometimes silicone rubber , even chemical metal can be utilised.
mouldturbo.jpg

jhdie1.jpg

DSCF2808.jpg