Looking for Advice.

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Micro-Eng

Micro-Eng
Reaction score
Dear Friends,

Hope everyone is having a great time.

I am from India, work as a biologist. I have NO engineering background whatsoever, but like to pass my time, tinkering with my honda CBF 150.

I have this idea for a new 'Type' engine, but dont know if it would work.

My idea is to combine a cylinder/Piston assembly (Suck/compress fuel air mixture) and pass it to a parallel chamber for ignition/exhaust. The pressurized escaping exhaust spins the flywheel. Of-course, plenty of valves are required throughout to minimize leaks and blowouts.

I have many questions here,

1) Has this been previously tried ?. Any pictures, models, links ?
2) what are the short comings?, benefits ?
3) Would anybody from this group be interested in making a working miniature model. I am curious to know how my idea would look like.

Thanks in advance. I hope to read your valuable comments.

Cheers.

Hello Micro-Eng
Could you explain closer why you want to move air-mixture
to a parallel chamber?
Can you add a drawing of your idea?

Hi Kadora,

Thanks for your quick msg.

I believe a piston connected to crankshaft is innately unbalanced (causing power loss, engine vibrations etc). Making the combustion in a separate (smaller) chamber, eliminates this.

Am working on the drawings, will post soon.

PS - I dont know any CAD, so struggling with MS-Paint

Hi Kadora,

I just noticed you live in slovakia. Currently I live in Trebon, Czech republic. Any possibilities that I could visit your place, we could discuss my idea over a coffee.

Hi Charles/ Kadora,

Its not a split single. Pls find a rough drawing (attachment) of what I have in mind.

Is there someone who could make a better 3D CAD (animated) version for me.