Longest project ever

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

josodl1953

Reaction score
This story is not about a complicated, sophisticated or big project.It is just about a build that I started some 39 years ago and left it unfinished in a box for many,many years. Being interested in IC engines from my childhood, I got my first model engine some 50 years ago. I got it from a schoolfriend, a 1 cc E.D. baby diesel . It was incomplete, and I managed to get the missing parts: intake rotor, carburettor and cylinder head. It was a sensation when I got it running for the first time - in our kitchen. My mother didn't like it. Over the years, I got involved in C/L flying and IC race boating which I have been doing for about 40 years. In 1977, I got myself a small Sherline mini lathe and a year later I thought it would be nice to build myself an engine .At that time, my parents liven in the southeastern part of the country anjd I went there for the weekend every month.It was an small town wtih no much going on there so I had a lot of time to make some sketches of the engine, a opposed twin.

I started off with crankcase, crankshaft, conrods, pistons and cylinders.But after that , my attention was drawn to other things such as marriage, having children, buying a home, the works...
So, a few years ago I started R/C flying, and after getting my model flying license , the idea arose to build the Edwards Radial 5 in a downsized version.